May 5th Week In Review

This could also be called Rock n Roll Half Training Week 9.  But as I noted in my last blog update, I’m changing up my training to essentially focus on the Portland Marathon in October. I’m still training for the Rock n Roll Half as well as the Vancouver, USA Half but I’m incorporating those races into my training.

I’m also still 100% sure I’m going to be “racing” the Rock n Roll Half.  Still trying to recover from being sick the last couple of weeks.  I still have a few lingering effects and I don’t quite have my legs back yet. Going to be one of those race day decisions.  If I’m feeling good I will go for it.  Either way I will be looking at the Vancouver, USA Half Marathon as another PR attempt.

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: 6 miles, 53:17, 8:52 pace. I was supposed to go 9 miles today. As you can tell by my pace this was an agonizingly slow run for me. I bagged it in after 6 miles. Felt it was better to cut the run short rather than push beyond what I was ready for.

Wednesday: Rest

Thursday: 5.93 miles, 49:41, 8:22 pace. I hooked up with the Gresham Running Club tonight. Been wanting to check out a running club to see if it would be something I would be interested in. I had a good time.  Lots of different running levels make up the group.  I think this will be something I will do for the foreseeable future to see how it pans out. It will require me to juggle my schedule a bit as Thursdays are normally my speed work day.

Friday: Rest

Saturday: 7.01 miles, 55:59, 7:59 pace. Felt much better today.  Did a nice 5 mile tempo sandwiched with a one mile warm up and cool down.

Sunday: 12.18 miles, 1:44:34, 8:35 pace. Good long run today on a gorgeously sunny day. I was out the door before 7:00 AM and it was still a little warm for how I was dressed. After my tempo run yesterday, followed by spending the afternoon doing yard work in old crappy shoes, my legs were a little tired today. But, it was still a good run.

Week totals; 31.13 miles, 4:23:31, 8:28 pace.

Overall a decent week.  Miles were a little low from what I was supposed to run but better safe than sorry in the long run. Feel ready to go for next week as I’m supposed to get back up towards 40 miles.

Happy Running

Lonnie

Leave a Reply

