Body Glide Product Review

My next product review is Body Glide.

Image

It was only recently that I learned what Body Glide really was.  When I first started running I don’t even think I knew it existed.  And then when I heard others mention it, my impression was this slimy, slick stuff you put on to help with areas that rubbed together.  Yeah, just a tad off the mark.

So what is Body Glide?  Here is the “official” description from their website (this is for the anti chaffing stick that I use): It’s a natural, invisible, non-wet, non-greasy barrier against irritation and rubbing that injures skin, ideal for feet and anywhere on the body. Perspiration escapes, skin breaths, and it lasts up to a day. Then, just wash it off. There are no oils or lanolin, no petroleum. Use it in all climates.  On feet, between thighs, in the groin, on arms, legs and the neck, and wherever skin is rubbed by footwear, clothing or skin against skin. It’s durable yet gentle for use in sensitive areas, and in skin folds and creases around breasts, stomach and buttocks.  In simple terms, you put it on your ouchie parts, go work out, take a shower and no nasty residue.  It seems simple enough to me, and I like simple.

Have to admit, I was a little skeptical.  I only have one, ok two, areas that give me problems.  And it only happens when I’m running in excess of six miles it seems.  I get what is called runner’s nipple.  It’s where the sweat and salt from your body dries on your shirts, making them abrasive, and then they rub on your nipples.  A tad extreme, but imagine taking fine grit sandpaper and gently rubbing on your nipples for 1-2 hours.  In fact, I normally don’t even notice until I get in the shower.  Just love the feeling of hot water flowing over raw skin.

In the past I usually resorted to some sort of band aid type coverage.  Most recently I was using the small, circular ones.  Half of the time they would end up shifting due to sweat or just not sticking.  Again, wouldn’t notice until I got in the shower. Plus you have to deal with the whole unplanned hair removal when you remove the band aid.  Never a pleasant experience, no matter how quickly you do it.

When we reached out to Body Glide to help with products for the Hot Buns Run Virtual 5K they were very excited with what we were doing.  They were more than eager to help and also offered to send us to samples to do a review on.  Given that I was in the market for ANYTHING that would help I jumped at the opportunity.

I put the body glide through a pretty thorough testing.  Any time I planned to go longer than 5 miles (which seems to be most days now) I would apply Body Glide.  The application of the anti chaffing stick is pretty basic.  It has the appearance, and feels for the most part, of a deodorant stick, so just rubbed over the area pretty liberally before getting dressed.  It goes on pretty easy, is not oily and doesn’t leave any kind of residue after I shower.  As for how it works…OH…EM…GEE…wish I would have had this product years ago.  I have not had the slightest problem with chaffing since I started using Body Glide.  I did an accidental (forgot to put it on) anti Body Glide test here recently during a six mile run.  Yep, chaffed right up.  Even with the raw spot already there, when I ran the next day with Body Glide I had no issues.  One of the main tests I wanted to put it through was the Blooms to Brews Half Marathon.  Again, zero issues.  It’s one less thing I have to be concerned with when running.

As I mentioned, the anti chaffing Body Glide has the look of your standard deodorant, right down to the packaging.  In fact, if you are not careful you could easily mix up the two…and yes, I fully expect to do this at some point knowing me.  Its compact size and hard plastic container make it great for just throwing it in your bag to take to the gym, vacation or just to your favorite running spot.

A quick look online shows that you can purchase Body Glide for somewhere between $6-10 depending on where you shop.  Even on the high end of $9.99 at Dick’s Sporting Goods you are getting an excellent value in my opinion.  I’m confident that Body Glide will definitely being in my equipment arsenal on a full time basis moving forward.  I can’t imagine not having it.

As for any negatives?  Personally, I couldn’t come up with any.  I’m sure someone will have some sort of skin issues with the product but I’m guessing if they do with this then they do with several other products on the market and I would consider them the exception rather than the rule.

Bottom line; if you are having chaffing issues of any kind, do yourself a favor and try Body Glide if you have not.  Comfort and relief alone are worth the minor investment to purchase the product.  I’m confident you will have a similar opinion as me.

Happy Running

Lonnie

Leave a Reply

